Indian government is all set to extend e-visa facility to more nations

January 22, 2015
India to extend electronic visa facility to more than 43 nations

Around 14,000 overseas tourists have flown to India during December month using the electronic visa facility that has been introduced on 27 November. The concerned authorities of the country are estimating a steady rise in the tourists’ number visiting the nation in the coming months with the extension of e-visa facility to countries such as China, France, Spain, Italy and UK. Reportedly, this would also make India to boost its in-bound travel market. 

Overseas citizens of 43 nations willing to relocate to India can apply for their visas through online and once the background assessment of the prospective individuals is over he or she can move to any of their chosen airport to pay the visa charges there.

In the previous month around one fourth of United States citizens toured the nation through electronic visa facility, out of which majority of the entries happened in New Delhi, according to the sources.

With an intention of boosting the tourism industry of the country, the concerned officials are also planning to put forth the new tourism strategies within the coming six months, says the tourism secretary Lalit K Panwar. 

India charges a fee of around $60 for a single passenger for electronic visa. During the year 2013, Indian government has seen a surge in tourist count to 6.97 million compared to 2012 figure.

For More Updates Follow Us @Facebook
comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon