Common East Africa Tourist Visa for Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda, soon

May 14, 2014
 Shared East Africa Tourist Visa for Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda, soon

According to some news reports, foreign nationals residing in any one of the three countries of Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda would soon be able to apply for a six-month long tourist visa, priced at $100, which when granted would allow them free access to all of the three countries with a single visa. 

And for non-resident aliens, a visa, titled the East Africa Tourist Visas, this is similar to the Schengen visa which allows a Schengen visa holder free access to any of the Schengen countries, would be available. The fees for this visa would be $100 and this would also allow entry multiple times to the three countries for 90 days, for every instance the visa is issued. The prime objective of the visa, titled the ‘East Africa Tourist Visa’, is to make the whole region comprising the three countries a single tourist destination, making it easier for foreigners to travel across the region for holidays.
As of now, the present cost for a visitor visa is $50 (about Rwf 35,000) every time he/she visits Uganda or Kenya only and $30 (about Rwf20,000) for visiting Rwanda only. Tour operators say that this soon-to-be-introduced visa fulfills a demand that is already present/there. Thus as one tour operator Rwanda put it, many people visiting Rwanda seek to visit the other countries too. According to that operator, the new visa saves time and money.
The administering and administration of the East Africa Tourist Visa will be done jointly by the Rwandan, Ugandan and Kenyan immigration offices. Rwanda will be the first to take on the joint administration, but/and the tourist data and information will be shared by all of the three immigration offices.

comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon