India Set to Extend E-visa facility to 31 more countries

April 16, 2015
India to include 31 more countries to its e-visa list

Indian government is planning to extend the e-tourist visa scheme to 31 countries and enables more foreign nationals to make use of the facility at seven more airports by 15 June 2015. 

Few countries that would benefit from the expansion include the UK, Portugal, Spain, Tanzania, Malaysia, Argentina and the Netherlands. 

The airports that are set to be included in the list are Gaya, Jaipur, Varanasi, Lucknow, Amritsar, Ahmedabad, and Trichy. At all these airports, overseas nationals can get an e-tourist visa. The airports were chosen because they receive large number of overseas travelers.

Currently, the e-visa facility is extended to 45 nations and can be availed at nine international airports. With the inclusion of more new countries by June, the count increases to 76 nations and 16 airports. 

Apparently, the citizens of Colombia, Argentina, Aruba, Armenia, Guatemala, Belgium, Ireland, Cuba, Jamaica, Hungary, Malta, Malaysia, Panama, Portugal, Mongolia, Spain, the Netherlands, Surinam,  Poland, Slovenia, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uruguay, Venezuela, Peru, St Vincent & the Grenadines, East Timor, Turks & Caicos Islands, Sweden, St Lucia and the UK will be eligible for e-visas. Finance minister Arun Jaitley stated that in the Budget 2015-2016 proposed e-visa scheme extension to 150 nations.

For More Updates Follow Us @Facebook
comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon