India extends e-visa facility to 36 more countries

July 13, 2016
India is riding high on the success of e-tourist visa scheme, after receiving an overwhelming response from the travelers in using the e-visa facility; Indian Government announced the extension of this service to 36 more countries. The proposal has been sent to the home ministry for seeking approval for granting the facility.  

India extends e-visa facility to 36 more countries

If the department approves the proposal, then travelers from 186 countries out of the United Nations recognized 194 countries. The online visa service was introduced in the month of November 2014. The new visa facility was introduced for 36 countries Iran, Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Nigeria, Italy, Turkey, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Maldives, and Morocco are among 36 countries that have been offered electronic travel visa. 

According to the Indian Tourism Ministry, between the period January and June 4, 71,909 tourists visited India. During the same period in the previous year 1, 26,214 visited India; the high growth rate of traveler influx is the impact of the introduction of e-tourist visa. 

e-visa facility was mainly used by the tourists from the United States followed by the United Kingdom, China, Australia and France in the month of May 2016. 

For More Immigration News & Updates Follow Us @Facebook
comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon