Myanmar and Indonesia sign an agreement for visa-free entry

May 12, 2014
Myanmar and Indonesia sign an agreement for visa-free entry

Myanmar and Indonesia have decided to and agreed upon visa-free entry and travel to the citizens or, passport holders of each other. The two countries signed the agreement to this effect on the sidelines of the ASEAN, which is at present going on in Nay Pyi Taw.
The formal agreement document to this effect was signed between U Wunna Maung Lwin, Myanmar’s foreign minister and the Indonesian foreign minister. The visa-free regime will be implemented sometime in May, as per the reports in the local press.

The visa exemption agreement between these two countries is being thought of as a part of the ASEAN’s initiative to introduce a common visa for the whole region, soon. Myanmar has already signed visa-free entry agreements with a number of countries which include Brunei, Laos, Cambodia, the Philippines and Vietnam. And, talks are already underway to introduce similar visa regimes between Myanmar and Malaysia and Myanmar and Singapore.
comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon