Canada mandates latest eTA program

January 21, 2016
Canada has mandated enrollment in its program for latest electronic travel authorization (eTA) for the individuals who does no not need visa to visit to Canada. The program has become compulsory for many people who seek to travel Canada on or after 15th March 2016. People traveling to Canada are exempted from enrolling. The US citizens are exempted from this system of eTA for traveling to Canada.

Canada mandates latest eTA program

Tourists who will be affected 

People from EU nations, permanent residents of the US and people from selected nations like Singapore, Japan, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand and Chile are among those who will get affected by the latest rules. People from the above mentioned countries and the permanent residents of the US would require to enroll with eTA  before travelling to Canada if they are travelling by air. 

Exempted Travelers

CIC has displayed a list of those who are exempted from enrolling with the latest eTA system. Most of the people with a legal US visa just transiting through Canada have also been exempted.

Applications for eTA 

CIC is taking the application for eTA. Applicants require a legitimate passport, a legitimate email id and a credit card. Applicants would cost around 7 Canadian dollars and are applicable for five years after they got approved.

For More Immigration News & Updates Follow Us @Facebook
comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon