European Union exempts citizens of Peru from entry visa requirements

May 07, 2014
EU to allow visa-free entry to Peru’s citizens

 The EU (European Union) on Tuesday consented or agreed on a regulation to lift visa requirements for nationals of Peru. This new change permits the citizens of Peru to travel and visit any of the 26 Schengen for a maximum period of 90 days. The process to proceed with this needed an amendment to one of EU’s regulations, the regulation 539/2001, which enumerates a list of third countries whose nationals need to have a visa to travel to and enter EU.

According to the amended regulation, citizens from a host of countries including those from other regions need not require any visa to go to any of the Schengen countries. Some of the countries which are on the list apart from Peru are the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Saint Lucia, Colombia, UAE, Dominica, Grenada, Kiribati, and some more of them. 
It is also a fact though, that this new regulation (or, waiver/exemption from having to possess a visa) will come into effect only when bilateral agreements are reached between EU and each of the countries whose citizens have been given an exemption. This bilateral agreement is required because of ‘reciprocity requirements/needs’. 

According to the formal change or regulation, the EU will further assess the situation (local situation) in the countries of Peru and Columbia before there is any initiation of talks regarding bilateral agreements for visa-free travel for citizens of the countries.

comments powered by Disqus


Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon